Inactive vs. Active Users

Users created on are inactive by default, which means that the app will recognize their credentials but not show them any services to scan for.

Creating an inactive user is the best way to reserve usernames, since new usernames must be unique from all other usernames on Adding your employees or clients as users before assigning them to services ensures that another account-holder won’t take those usernames first.

Keeping a user inactive is also a good way to keep them from scanning for a service until you choose to let them do so. If you hire a new employee but don’t want to give them scanning privileges until after they’ve been trained, you can still create their username and password to reserve it on our system. Then, you can activate them when they’re ready.

To activate a user, you need to associate the user with a service. (Learn more about how to authorize users for services, and creating your first service .)

in Users